“6The Lord works righteousness

and justice for all who are oppressed.

He made known his ways to Moses,

his acts to the people of Israel.

The Lord is merciful and gracious,

slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.” (ESV)

C: David is exhorting himself, then angels, heavenly hosts, and all creation to praise God.

O: 6 The Lord brings justice for the oppressed?

7 God made Himself, character and works, known to Israel through Moses.

8 The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in love

9-10 God has every right to be angry toward man, but by grace He does not treat us as we deserve but instead gave His only begotten Son to pay my debt.

M: What is God’s character, what has He done for man? How is He merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in love? How does He bring justice for the oppressed? I don’t need to look further than the Bible, or specifically here, Exodus.

When Moses was just an infant in the midst of the killing of Hebrew infants, God rescued him through extraordinary means (adopted by the princess of Egypt herself!) (Exodus 2:10), and used Moses to set His people free from slavery in Egypt. Through miracles again He demonstrates that He alone is the true God, even His enemies were in awe.

A: 1Know God through His Word and deeds. 

a. His character through His relations to man, interactions and works.

b. “He made known His ways.” I did not find God, but He made Himself known through the people of Israel, chosen by a promise, not by their works.

2. Dwell on the fact that God made Himself known to me, not that I found Him. He placed the desire in my heart.

3. Remember my sins against the Lord and how He has been merciful and gracious, not treating me as I deserve but “crowning me with love and compassion.”

Father, Your Word is life. Since the beginning of man You have been merciful, gracious, loving, and just in all Your ways. I confess that I have forgotten You just as the Israelites did and returned back to Egypt. Father, by the Holy Spirit help me to know and understand You more intimately, giving You the glory and praise due You, the only King. Lord, give me understanding so I may bring Your love to those You place into my life. Thank You Father, in Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

