“23 He has broken my strength in midcourse;
    he has shortened my days.
24 “O my God,” I say, “take me not away
    in the midst of my days—
you whose years endure
    throughout all generations!” (ESV)

O: 18-20 The writer records his suffering so that future generations may know the Lord saves and give Him praise.

“Hear the groans and release those condemned to death”

21-22 So the Lord will be praised at the end of this age, when all His people will be gathered and worship the Lord.

23-24 God gave the Psalmist suffering so that he would call on the name of the Lord for help

25-27 and give Him all glory and honor and praise, praising His power in creating the heavens and the earth, His timelessness, and never changing, always the same, the same God of love and justice will remain forever.

28 God will rescue and bless not only His people, but the generations after them. That means my children, their children, their children’s children, etc. will partake and enjoy the Lord forever!

M: To be able to ascribe all His suffering and afflictions as from the Lord, some may call him crazy, or his God as not all powerful, all loving. Yet the Psalmist gives the reason for the suffering in the very next verse, so that he would call out to the Lord,

24 Praise and worship Him

25 Ascribe all worthiness in God alone, nothing else in heaven and earth can compare

27 Bringing the focus back to God Himself

28 and looking forward to future promises.

A: Recognize that every circumstance, the joyful times and times of sorrow are from the Lord. In times of affliction:

1. Call out to Him for deliverance

2. Praise and worship Him for who He is, remembering His perfect character. Turn attention to God instead of my ability.

3. Look forward to future blessings!

Father, I praise You for Your Words of life, for being sovereign. Forgive me for not turning to You in my afflictions, please grant me wisdom by Your Spirit to turn and praise You in the storm and give You all the honor and glory and power.

