“because of Your great wrath, for you have taken me up and thrown me aside.” – Psalm 102:10.

Context: According to the NIV “A prayer of an afflicted man. When he is faint and pours out his lament before the Lord.” A man going through intense suffering.

Observation: 1-2 A plea to God to save

3-5 Description of his suffering

6-7 He became alone, shunned by others

8 Persecuted, mocked because of his sufferings

9-10 The Psalmist acknowledges that his circumstance is from the Lord

11 A repeat of verse 3, summary of his agony and situation

12-14 But he praises God for His eternal rule and fame through all time. God will have compassion on His church. 

15 The nations will fear the Lord, because…

16-17 The Lord will rebuild His church, appear before the world, answer and heed to the cries of the distressed.

Meaning: “because of Your great wrath, for you have taken me up and thrown me aside.” – Psalm 102:10.

The afflicted man acknowledges that his suffering is from the Lord, instead of blaming it on coincidence or others. How does he do that? Because he understands that the Lord is sovereign over all, even the “crooked lot” that we receive. This is such a great faith; the moment I encounter pain and trials my tendency has been to turn to entertainment, food, people, anything to find comfort, instead of coming before the Lord and acknowledging that the suffering is from Him. I am distrusting God’s ability to provide for me. Instead, I believe that I am more wise, more able, more loving than my Heavenly Father. What a great folly!

Application: Seek God in my trials and suffering, because ultimately the trials are allowed by God in my life for my good. (Rom 8:28). Also, He is infinitely more wise, more able, more loving, and more compassionate toward my suffering than I ever am or will be for myself. Trust that not only is the trial from my God, but that deliverance will also come from Him.

Father, I praise You because You are sovereign over all things. In my sin I have thought myself to be more capable of taking care of myself than You. I confess that in my times of sin and rebellion I am not trusting in You. Thank You that You are a compassionate God, and that You have pity on me in my afflictions. Help me to trust in You at all times, so that You would be glorified in Your servant’s life.

