Passage: John 1:43-51

Who?

Jesus to Nathanael

When?

Beginning of Jesus’ ministry calling of first disciples

Why?

– Nathanael questioned whether Jesus was the promised Savior to come.

– Jesus spokes the words in (47) that caused Nathanael to ask Jesus, “How do you know me?”

– Jesus answered Nathanael’s question, leaving him no room for doubt.

?/Notes:

– Seems Nathanael, though early disciple, was not chosen as one of Jesus’ 12. Why?

App:

– God knows us because He made us, He is all-knowing.

– Jesus leaves us no room to doubt He is God’s Son. “Come and see” Jesus, as Philip says, and He will prove Himself to be the Savior.

Devotional:

Trials reveal our true character; they reveal our personal relationship to Christ. “What is unseen will be seen.” If I do not live as God calls me to (worship, pray, Bible reading) in the calm parts of life, I definitely will not live as God alls me to when trials come. Not only will I be useless to God, but a hindrance.

