Passage: John 13:14

“Now that I, your Lord and teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet.”

Who:

Jesus to His disciples

When:

At the last supper, just before Judas Iscariot would betray Jesus

Why?

– Jesus shows His disciples “the Son of Man came not to be served, but to serve.”

– Jesus takes on a slave’s role to set an example of what we should do.

– If anyone sought wealth, fame, glory, power in this life, Jesus surely woke them up to the reality of no earthly kingdom. (at least not yet)

?/Notes:

– What does it mean that unless “[Jesus] washes you, you have no part with me.” (8)

– What does v 10 mean?

App:

Passage:

– As Jesus served man to bring them to know Him, I also should serve others to bring them to know Christ.

Devotional:

 God prepares us for His ministry by giving us opportunities first to serve the people around us in little ways. If I do not serve them now, why would I serve those I meet in the “greater ministry”? As Jesus washed His disciples feet, let us also serve those around us with humility and love.

