Got this mini-study format from a very encouraging brother, Josh at notsurehowthisworksbutihopeitdoes.blogspot.com/2013/08/friday-august-16.html,

I’ve been going through the devotional book My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers, never really studied the passage in-depth before reading the commentary! It really is different, sort of like the satisfaction of solving a puzzle on your own, without consulting a manual. Took me about 40 minutes!

_________________________

John 4:14
“But whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Who is this from/to: 
 – From Jesus to the Samaritan woman

Why? 
– Samaritan woman asks if Jesus is greater than her ancestor Jacob.

– Woman questions Jesus’ offer of water when he had nothing to draw water from the well.

– Jesus speaks about Himself so that the woman may be saved.

– Jesus initiated the conversation, though He was very tired.

– Jesus uses the woman’s thirst and also life of sin as a way of reaching out to her.

Conditional or non-conditional? 
“But whoever drinks the water I give him”

– The person must drink the water that Jesus gives

– Only Jesus can give this living water, no one else can.

What is being asserted: 
– Jesus shall give the living water to all who drinks from it.

– Not only will the person never thirst again, it will become in him a spring of water, something ever-growing and never ending, because it is of God.

Postive or negative consequences? 
– Definitely positive in that the person who drinks will have eternal life. On the flip side, negative consequences will result for those who do not come to Jesus to satisfy their thirst. They shall not receive the “spring welling up to eternal life.”

Application: 
– Am I drinking from the fountain of living water daily? Quenching my thirst from Jesus and His Words?

– Jesus initiates the conversation with the Samaritan woman, a group of people the Jews would have detested. Who are the people that I meet that I would not share the Gospel with, let alone become friends? (Homeless, gangsters, socially awkward)

– Only Jesus can give eternal life and satisfy us, nothing else. No book or food or hobby or goal or person or dream or money or sleep or air or anything, apart from God, can give us eternal life. I need to stop turning to food and entertainment when I feel empty, sad and come to Jesus to drink and be satisfied.

* Extra from Devotional or Commentaries

– Jesus will cause the spring in His disciples to flow out into their lives and others.

– If our relationship with Christ is unhindered, living water should be evidently flowing out of us.

– The question to ask is not “Who am I?” but “Who is Jesus Christ?” Of course I am a sinner, only capable of offering sin to God; but, it is by Jesus’ life and sacrifice that I may live and proclaim the Gospel to others.

