1.25.13 Friday Night “Jesus is worthy to be anointed with costly perfume” John 12:1-8; Mark 14:3-9

Why is this lesson so important for me personally to hear?  

Going through a time where many distractions and idols get in the way of my relationship with God. Where I’d rather run elsewhere than to Him. Studying through this passage I see why Mary had so many reasons to anoint Jesus with the costly perfume. Her sins had been forgiven, her brother Lazarus was raised from the dead. And not the least of these, Jesus is Lord. He alone is worthy of my whole life and love because He is God. How can anything compare to the Lord? No person, no achievement, no goal, no object can compare. When I am tempted to give my time and energy to any other pursuit in life, I need to stop and ask why. Is it worth it? Only God is worth it.

has it had that impact?

Here I am, once again saved from the temptations of giving up because God states that He is worthy. And looking at all the things I turn to, how devastating life would be if God did not place a rein on the sinful nature. He is worthy, despite what I think or how I feel. Because He is Savior. Because He is Creator. Because He is God. Because He loves me.

Memory Verse:

“Leave her alone,” said Jesus. “Why are you bothering her? She has done a beautiful thing to me.” – Mark 14:6

 

Objectives/truths

–          Jesus, who is God, is more valuable than anything else in the whole world

–          Jesus is worthy of our life and love

–          God is pleased when we obey and love Him

 

Personal Application

  • God deserves my whole life, every breath that I breathe. Because He gave it to me.
  • There is nothing that should ever warrant me taking my eyes off of Jesus.

Demonstration

  • Through flannel, or telling a story using Scripture and asking students to act the scene out.

Points to make from Story

–          Mary poured the perfume to show her love for her Savior. The perfume is very expensive.

–          Jesus defends and praises what Mary had done for him. God is pleased with our offerings of gratitude.

Worship:
You Deserve the Glory
More Precious than Silver

