Hey all!

Jonathan mentioned yesterday about book dioramas… though I’ve never made one,here’s a book report.

C.S. Lewis (Men of Faith) by Catherine Swift

There’s a copy of it in our sunday school room, or you can buy it here:
http://www.amazon.com/C-S-Lewis-Faith-Catherine-Swift/dp/1556611269

Summary:

I was encouraged to learn about this man who wrote the Chronicles of Narnia. This book is about his life and how he came to accept Christ, but mainly about how he came to accept Christ (since he became a Christian at age 31). His life was filled with much difficulties.

This book encourages me to live by faith in God instead of living by emotions and my current life situation. It also encourages me to want to read Chronicles of Narnia, The Screwtape Letters and Mere Christianity, all by C.S. Lewis.

Interesting points from book:

– Book mainly on how he fought and despised Christians and the religion.
– Insight into how Chronicles of Narnia came about (At the age of 5? he began writing Animal Land)
– Tolkien (Lord of the Ring series) was a Catholic, good friend of Lewis.
– Lewis eventually gave into Christianity by “kicking, struggling, resentful, and darting his eyes in every direction for a chance to escape.”
– Learned many things that I didn’t know about him (how he finally married while trying to help a woman and her children stay in the country, he is dead, fought in World War I)

I highly recommend this book!  :]
Take care,

– Joshua H Wu

