1.      1.  I am willing and prepared to pay the price of discipline because I see that a lack of discipline in my life has injured many relationships with friends and family; the lack of discipline has cost me days, months, even years of time being wasted. I want to see my family and I grow together in our knowledge and love for Christ; I want to see my friends become encouraged and unyielding in their commitment to the love of Christ.

2.      2.  It is true, that “No manliness no maturity! No discipline no discipleship! No sweat no sainthood!” As a man it would be unbecoming of me to not step up and protect and provide for those God entrusts to me. If I continue to be passive in my actions and words I will have lived a life no different than an animal that just eats, sleeps, and cares for only its well-being. Even now as I strive to communicate this knowledge and information for myself and the well-being of my fellow believers I would rather be doing something else; it is abnormal for me to want to pursue discipline, to love others.

3.      3.  Spiritual discipline differs from legalism in the motivation of our actions; legalism is self-centered while discipline is God-centered. Many times in the pursuit of discipline I fall into the trap of legalism. Some of the dangers of legalism is that we begin to lose heart in our work, we get frustrated when we don’t get the results we want, that if what motivates me is not God’s love then the work or discipline I am pursuing surely isn’t bringing me closer to developing a heart for God’s love and other people!

1.      I am willing and prepared to pay the price of discipline because I see that a lack of discipline in my life has injured many relationships with friends and family; the lack of discipline has cost me days, months, even years of time being wasted. I want to see my family and I grow together in our knowledge and love for Christ; I want to see my friends become encouraged and unyielding in their commitment to the love of Christ.

2.      It is true, that “No manliness no maturity! No discipline no discipleship! No sweat no sainthood!” As a man it would be unbecoming of me to not step up and protect and provide for those God entrusts to me. If I continue to be passive in my actions and words I will have lived a life no different than an animal that just eats, sleeps, and cares for only its well-being. Even now as I strive to communicate this knowledge and information for myself and the well-being of my fellow believers I would rather be doing something else; it is abnormal for me to want to pursue discipline, to love others.

3.      Spiritual discipline differs from legalism in the motivation of our actions; legalism is self-centered while discipline is God-centered. Many times in the pursuit of discipline I fall into the trap of legalism. Some of the dangers of legalism is that we begin to lose heart in our work, we get frustrated when we don’t get the results we want, that if what motivates me is not God’s love then the work or discipline I am pursuing surely isn’t bringing me closer to developing a heart for God’s love and other people!

