1. 1. Timothy 4:7-8 “Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, train yourself to be godly. For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”

The literal meaning of the greek word for train, gumnos, means “to exercise naked.”

  1. Practically I need to be throwing off everything that is burdening me to follow Christ, every sin, every habit, tendency that impedes godliness. Through this I need to labor and toil.
  2. Hebrews 12:1 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” This passage says I should throw off not only everything that hinders me in my relationship with Christ, but also the sin that will always be trying to be master over me. To strive for godliness as in a race.
  3. Many things are holding me back in my relationship with God. My own self-centeredness, unwillingness to intentionally change my wrong attitudes and character, not coming before the Almighty God and acknowledge that I cannot do anything apart from Him. My intentional lusts, the jealousy of my heart. I am hanging on to my burdens because they don’t require me to make any sacrifices; I am lazy, unwilling to take action.
  4. The cost to spiritual discipline is choosing to live in a way that is unnatural (since no one is naturally pursuing God). I will have to acknowledge that I am not self-sufficient. I will need to plan to grow since growth will not happen on its own.

 Some practical ways to grow in discipline

–          Set aside time with God

–          Set aside time for studying the Word

–          Make a schedule and follow it.

