Section: Prevailing Prayer 3 of 12

” To pray for things contrary to the revealed will of God is to tempt God.”

Praying against His will would be like asking God to break His promise, and God does not break promises.

Three ways in which God’s will is revealed to men for their guidance in prayer:

1. Revealed by express promises or predictions in the Bible.

“Whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours” (Mark 11:24)

– Promises in regard to particular things.

2. Revealed by His providence.

providence– God’s guidance.

When He makes it clear that such and such an event is about to take place, it is as much a revelation as if He had written it in His word. I would be impossible to reveal everything in the Bible”

One example would be when God calls a person to go to a particular country. It is not literally stated in the Bible for that person to go where and when, but that person is guided by God’s providence.

3. Revealed by His Spirit.

When God’s people are at a loss what to pray for, agreeable to His will, His Spirit often instructs them.”

The Spirit helps us in our weakness,” and “the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express” (Romans 8:27)

– I believe this, that when I am at a loss for what to do, the Holy Spirit guides me back to God, both in prayer and heart.

“Be filled with the Spirit” (Ephesians 5:18). And He will lead their minds to those things God is willing to grant.

– Allow the Holy Spirit to guide you, and He will lead us to do God’s will. I can attest to this, that each time I am brought before God and repent, as in surrendering my will to His will, the Holy Spirit takes me and guides me to do God’s will. And through the Spirit I am able to do things that I could never have done on my own strength.

____________________________________________

Summary: God’s will is revealed to us either by the Bible, through His providence, or the Holy Spirit. Read the Bible so you will know His will that is revealed through the word; God’s providence can lead you to know what He wants, and what to pray for; surrender yourself to the Holy Spirit so that He may guide you in prayer.

