“Two things I ask of you, O Lord. Do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me, give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say,’Who is the Lord?’; Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God.”

This verse means a lot to me: one is asking God to keep the devil’s lies and deception away from me, and the other is to never make me poor or rich. There are many times when there are voices telling me that I will fail, or lead me astray; That is why I always need God’s hand guiding me along the way, constantly seeking His advice. The second half of this verse is a warning to everyone; God blesses us with so many talents and gifts, that we may end up forgetting, like so many others, of Who has given all this to us in the first place. For example, look at America today. It first began as a Christian country, by people who feared and followed God. As time went on and the country grew bigger and more prosperous, people began to forget about God; many still remember Who God is, but does not remember what He has done for us. Christians have been blessed too much and end up becoming idle, or worse, turning away from God. This verse serves as a constant reminder to me reminding me that it is God who has given me everything I have; at any instant should I never even imagine that it was by my strength or abilities. This verse also reminds me that God provides for His people, and that I should never worry about never being able to have enough to survive, if it is God’s will.

