. Hey brother and sisters! How has it been going? Been keeping up with the memory verses every week? As it was announced this past sunday, we will be having some sort of competition against the younger group with the memory verses! I’m not the coordinator of this event, but there’s something I would like to share with you guys:

. I didn’t really care much about memorizing scripture; sure, if someone asked me if memorizing scripture was good, I would say yes. Whenever I see someone quoting scripture from memory, or even when the younger brothers and sisters go around happily parading their newly memorized verses, I congratulate them, saying something like, “Great job! Keep it up!”. But I still didn’t think much about memorizing scripture. For me, I would rather do other things that didn’t take as much brain power, such as keeping up with the BRP without thinking much about what I was reading. The bible is God’s words!

. In the past month, I’ve been really experiencing growth in my relationship with Christ. I would have to thank God for the people He has brought into my life, for reminding me that He is a true and living God; Eric, for his daily devotion to God; Brian and Neilsen for their awesome notes that I get to read everyday instead of watching anime and reading manga. (The things I gave up for lent) From them I have learned to carefully read through the Bible with open eyes, mind, and heart.

. Back to the memory verses. While talking to God, I asked Him to give me a passion for memorizing scripture, so that I can have His word in my heart to combat any temptation and hardships that will come my way. He answered, and it was from a person that I would never expect, my dad. As some of you may know, my dad came back a little bit before Chinese New Years, and returned back to Taiwan just last friday night. On fridays I only have one class, so after that class was done I got to spend the rest of my time with my dad, getting to catch up on things. We went out to eat, and while talking, he told me that I should not be wasting time waking up early in the morning only to read the bible and typing up my devotion email. I didn’t understand; I told him it was important for me to start up my day with God.

. What he said next was what really amazed me; he said something along the lines of when you wake up in the morning, it is the best time to memorize things, and in this case, scripture! This was coming from my dad, who likes to joke around all the time, telling me to go be a doctor. I was amazed! God had really blessed the time my dad and me were able to spend together that day, I can never thank Him enough. After my dad had to leave for Taiwan that night, I headed to church by bus. And while at the bus stop, I did my best to memorize Proverbs 30:7-9. I didn’t quite have it all down that night (Neilsen and Josh C. knows) but since then, I’ve been doing my best to memorize scripture whenever I can. The first thing I did when I woke up last saturday was to memorize all the verses that our church have been memorizing. Today, I have just memorized the new one for this week:

“What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose if a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him,”Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed.”, but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.” – James 2:14-17

. Really, what good is it if we claim to have faith but have nothing to show for it? In the same way, what good is it when we encourage others to memorize scripture, telling them that it is good, when we do not memorize them ourselves? “Faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.”

. Many of you are memorizing scripture on your own; that is great; Keep it up! Others of you, like me, may have never gotten past only memorizing John 3:16! I wrote this note not to brag, not to poke fun at the people who don’t memorize scripture, but I wrote it because I felt as if God had convicted me to write this while memorizing scripture this morning; Less than a week ago, I could care less about memorizing scriptures. Now I know the importance of keeping God’s word on your heart and mind: throughout the day it keeps your thoughts on God; God’s word helps me flee from temptation when it comes; the scriptures help and remind me constantly about God’s love and promise for us through the trials and hard times;and most important of all, I can use it to bless others. The younger brothers and sisters look up to us, as I look up to you older brothers and sisters. We are, and need to be, the examples set before them; role-models for them to follow, as men and women of Christ.

Let us show our love for the younger brothers and sisters by crushing them at the upcoming memory verse competition! Praise God!

God bless you,

– Joshua H Wu

