.  Thank God for creating mosquitoes! Now, you may think I’m crazy, or being sarcastic, but I’m not.


.  I used to hate them. In the night, I would suddenly wake up because I’ve been bit, and its hard to fall back asleep. I cursed them. Every time I saw one near me, I would do my best to smash it with something so that it would not annoy me anymore. Why the sudden change from hating them to thanking them?

Because God used mosquito to wake me up. And I’m not talking about when I go to bed; God used mosquitoes to wake me up from my spiritual slumber.

. For a while now, I’ve been wanting to be more consistent in my time with God. I would always ask my fellow brothers and sisters to pray for me in this matter, but it seemed that no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t seem to find the strength to get up early in the morning. In a series of events after Valentine’s day this year(totally unrelated topic, I know) God has been teaching me to trust Him with my whole heart; to trust Him with every detail of my life, with my future, with my burdens. I realized that while I have been seeking prayer from others for my burdens, I haven’t been lifting them up to God myself. If we ask others to pray for something but we ourselves don’t pray, then wouldn’t it seem as if we did not care? I got down, talked to God, and asked Him to put in me a desire to want to know Him more. I asked that He would give me the strength to chase after Him diligently and faithfully; I told God that I want to trust in Him for my entire life.

.  A little less than a week ago, I went to sleep as usual. Nothing seemed to be different. That early morning (2 am), I was woken up by a mosquito bite again. It was so itchy, that I was scratching it while I was waking up! I got up immediately, turned on the lights, then camped in the corner of my room, trying my best to find and get rid of the pest that is the mosquito. After some time, I couldn’t find it, and I was fully awake and didn’t feel like sleeping, so I went to my computer and turned it on. Next to my computer was my bible. On that day I was blessed with time spent with the Lord in devotion, delighting in His word early in the morning, my first actually of this year.

.  I never could find that mosquito that bit me that day. It was as if it never existed, but I know that God had used, and had been using that and every other mosquito for quite some time now. Actually, I am able to write to you this little post because I had been waken up today by a mosquito bite; But I don’t bother looking around for it anymore. God has given me strength even through the most annoying of His creations, and I have been very blessed since then to be able to wake up early every morning to praise God and devote time in His word! God always answers our prayers. He wants to you to lift up your burdens to Him so that He may be glorified and your trust in Him strengthened.
The question is, would you be willing to trust God to answer the cryings of your heart?

Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;  in all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make your paths straight.”    – Proverbs 3:5-6

Thank God for mosquitoes!

God bless you,

– Joshua H Wu

P.S. 12/22/11 Almost 2 years since I wrote this article; I still don’t like mosquitoes (they are really annoying). Shows how even in the worst of things God can be glorified!

